Please view in portrait mode
Official Website of Western India Football Association
Mumbai, Kolhapur, Nagpur in last eight of Sub-Junior Girls in Jalgaon

11th February 2018, Mumbai: The second day of Maharashtra Inter-District Sub-Junior Girls commenced on Sunday morning at Chhatrapati Shivaji Stadium, Jalgaon. Mumbai District, along with Thane, Solapur, Kolhapur, Pune, Nashik, Nagpur, and Palghar have made it into the last eight of the Sub-Junior Girls Championship.

Mumbai (Sai Sankhe x 2, Mehek Lobo x 2, Jhanvi Shetty, Gylnelle Picardo, Christine Nazerath and Ash D’Silva) 8-0 Satara

In the Pre-Quarters, Mumbai displayed a magisterial attacking performance to defeat Satara 8-0 to qualify for the quarter-final. Sai Sankhe and Mehek Lobo scored two goals each, whereas, Jhanvi Shetty, Gylnelle Picardo, Christine Nazerath and Ash D’Silva scored one each to complete a resounding victory.

Satara tried their very best to break through Mumbai’s defense but Mumbai’s backline stood strong and firm to avoid leaking any goals. Overall, a commanding performance by Mumbai District.

Dhule (Yashashri Sonawane x 2) 2-7 Thane (Priyanka Kanojia x 4, Khushi Makhija x 2 and Dakshata Panwal)

Thane ran riot against Dhule as they registered a 7-2 victory to progress into the next round. Striker Priyanka Kanojia scored four times while Captain Khushi Makhija (scored twice) and Dakshata Panwal also got on the scoresheet. Dhule’s wonderkid Yashashri Sonawane scored two breathtaking solo goal which earned her the best player of the match award.

Jalgaon 0-3 Solapur (Saniya Khan x 2 and Sejal Shinde)

The host bowed out of the Tournament as they went down fighting 3-0 against Solapur. Saniya Khan displayed a superb performance as she scored twice while Sejal Shinde added the other goal. Saniya could have bagged a fine hat-trick but Jalgaon’s goalkeeper made sure to deny her further goal in the dying stages of the match.

Other results: Buldhana vs Pune (Pune progressed as Buldhana got disqualified), Nashik (Payal Dode) 1-0 Osmanabad, Nagpur (Kajal, Urmila and Sneha Vikey) 3-0 Ahmednagar and Kolhapur (Sanika Patil x 2, Samruddhi x 2 and Rajnandini) 6-0 Amravati

Quarter-Final fixtures: Mumbai vs Palghar, Pune vs Thane, Nashik vs Kolhapur and Solapur vs Nagpur.