Please view in portrait mode
Official Website of Western India Football Association
WIFA Inter District Championship Mumbai, Nagpur, Kolhapur, Pune enter last four

Defending Champions Kolhapur breeze past Parbhani with a 4-0 win while Nagpur ride on Sufiyan Sheikh’s hattrick to make it past Aurangabad to enter the Semi-finals of the WIFA Inter District Championship

Kolhapur continued their impressive run with another clinical win as they beat Parbhani 4-0 to make it to the last four of the Inter-District Competition. Parbhani looked like to hold on to their own until Indrajeet Chougule opened the scoring in the 19th minute, to put Kolhapur in lead. Parbhani did manage to make some moves of their own but failed to break Kolhapur’s defense. It was not until the second half that defending champions came into full force with Karan Chavan doubling the lead in the 45th minute.

Constant pressure on Parbhani’s defense then forced an own goal from Arbaz before Prathamesh Herekar finished off the game with the fourth goal minutes before the full-time whistle.

Last year’s runner-up Nagpur outclassed Aurangabad with a 6-0 win with Sufiyan Sheikh scoring a brilliant hat-trick. Stanley Peter scored the opening goal before Sufiyan took over. P Thushal and Mehul Sindram added two more late goals to complete the 6-0 rout.

Mumbai continued their winning streak with another huge victory as they smashed Sangli 6-0. Himanshu Patil was the star of the show as he smashed four goals in the game. Tejas Raut added one to the tally while the opening goal was an own goal.

In another encounter, Host Pune knocked out Solapur with a 2-0 win. Sudeesh M opened the scoring in the very first minute before Sathish H added another early in the second half to double the lead. Solapur’s occasional foray into attack didn’t yield any goals as the host went through to last four.

Quarterfinal Results:

Kolhapur (Indrajeet Chougule 19′, Karan Chavan 45′, Arbaz Bagwan 62′ (OG), Prathamesh Herekar 76′) 4 – 0 Parbhani

Nagpur (Stanley Peter 5′, Sufiyan Sheikh 40′, 66′, 78′, P Thushal 66′, Mehul Sindram 76′) 6 – 0 Aurangabad

Sangli 0 – 6 Mumbai (1′ OG, Himanshu Patil 23′, 40+2′, 46′, 65′, Tejas 27′)

Solapur 0 – 2 Pune (Sudeesh M 1′, Sathish H 51′)