Please view in portrait mode
Official Website of Western India Football Association
Mumbai Knights clinches WIFA Women’s Football League Championships 2023-24

The final day of WIFA Womens League 2023-24 witnessed Mumbai Knights FC emerged triumphant with a 2-0 win over Young Guns FC, securing their second consecutive League title.

Under the astute guidance of Coach Julian Dsilva and Manager Snehal Shrikant Kulkarni, the Knights showcased an exceptional blend of talent and teamwork throughout the season.

The 6th edition of the WIFA women’s football league kicked off on November 6, 2023, marking the beginning of a journey that would be etched in the annals of women’s football history in Maharashtra. The league proved to be a spectacle of astounding scorelines, innovative celebrations, and the dazzling display of skills, along with the unique personalities of the players.

The final day unfolded with heightened anticipation as two critical matches determined the fate of the title. Aspire Football Club clashed with Pune Krida Prabhodhini Academy, while Mumbai Knights FC faced off against MUM-Young Guns FC. The scenario was tense, with each team having a distinct path to the championship.

After a goalless first half, the Knights pushed forward in attack, securing two goals in the second half and therby clinching the victory they needed to lift the title. Later in the day, the second place was up for grabs and but Krida Prabhodhini managed to hold off Aspire’s late charge to tie the game and confirm runners-up finish

As the dust settled, the final standings revealed Mumbai Knights FC atop the league with an impressive 31 points. Pune Krida Prabhodhini Academy secured the second position with 28 points, and Aspire Football Club claimed the 3rd spot with 27 points.

Individual brilliance was duly recognized in the awards, with Sumaiyya Shaikh from Pune Krida Prabhodhini emerging as the Top Scorer with an outstanding 18 goals. Valencia D’Mello of Mumbai Knights FC, contributing 15 goals, was rightfully awarded Player of the Tournament. Hritika Bandsode from Pune Krida Prabhodhini earned the Best Goalkeeper Award, showcasing excellence between the posts.