Please view in portrait mode
Official Website of Western India Football Association
Maharashtra dominates Andaman & Nicobar with 25-0 win in Senior Women’s National Football Championship opener

In a dazzling display of skill and teamwork, Maharashtra’s women’s football team commenced their campaign in the 28th Senior Women’s National Football Championship with a resounding 25-0 triumph over Andaman & Nicobar. The match, held at SAI Ground, Himachal Pradesh, showcased the team’s prowess and determination right from the kickoff.

Goal Fest Unleashed:

The goal scorers for Maharashtra orchestrated a goal fest, leaving their opponents with no room to recover. The scoring spree began early, with Priya Rathod finding the net in the 4th minute. Vaishnavi Barate followed suit with a spectacular hat-trick, scoring in the 7th, 15th, and 17th minutes. Nishka Parkash, Pranita Nimkar, Arya More, and Sharvari Donkar also contributed to the goal tally with clinical finishes.

Dominant First Half:

The first half saw Maharashtra’s relentless attacks, with players exhibiting precision and coordination in their movements. The team’s midfield control and swift transitions from defense to offense left Andaman & Nicobar struggling to contain the constant onslaught. Sharvari Donkar’s impressive hat-trick in the latter parts of first half, with goals in the 26th, 41st, and 45+1st minutes, exemplified Maharashtra’s dominance.

Second Half Brilliance:

The momentum continued into the second half, with captain Aishwarya Bonde adding her name to the scoresheet in the 63rd minute. The substitutes, including Aishwarya Jagtap, Samrudhi Katkole, and Sakshi Hiwale, seamlessly integrated into the gameplay, further contributing to Maharashtra’s commanding lead. Jagtap who came in at the half time break scored 4 goals in the span of 25 minutes while Samrudhi too registered a hattrick in the game.

Looking Ahead:

With a stellar start to their campaign, Maharashtra’s women’s team now turns its focus to the upcoming clash against Bihar on 25th November at 2:30 PM, scheduled at the SAI Ground. Group F, featuring Maharashtra, includes teams such as Himachal Pradesh, Bihar, Railways, and Andaman & Nicobar.

This victory not only marks a phenomenal beginning for Maharashtra in the national championship but also underscores the team’s potential as they aim for further success in the tournament.