Please view in portrait mode
Official Website of Western India Football Association
Maharashtra make solid winning start, tame Andhra Pradesh 3-0

Mumbai, January 29: Maharashtra (WIFA) made a solid winning start as they blanked Andhra Pradesh 3-0 in their opening Group-B league match of the AIFF Junior National Football Championship 2017-2018 (Tier-II) for the B.C. Roy Trophy and played in Una, Himachal Pradesh, on Monday.

After a barren first half, Maharashtra came into their own, and wrested complete dominance scoring three times during this period to run out worthy winners.

Subtitute Aryan Banerjee who replaced skipper Bhuvan Jerpoth, scored the first goal in the 53rd minute before Johnson Mathews scored the second 10 minutes later to double Maharashtra’s lead. A further five minutes later, Sandesh Kasar who also came in as a substitute for Shantanu Ningurkar struck the third goal to complete the victory.

Results – Group-B: Maharahtra 3 (Aryan Banerjee, Johnson Mathews, Sandesh Kasar) beat Andhra Pradesh 0.