Please view in portrait mode
Official Website of Western India Football Association
Inter-District Men’s Championship: Day 1 Round-up

Inter-District Men’s Championship at Nashik

On Monday, WIFA Inter-District Men’s Championship got underway at Nashik. A total of seven matches were played throughout the day. The likes of Mumbai, Nashik, Nagpur, and Thane triumphed and booked their place in the next round.

Mumbai 17-0 Gadchiroli

In the opening game of the Championship, Mumbai District registered a whopping 17-0 win over Gadchiroli. The biggest win of the day. The duo of Rohan Shukla and Sohail Khatri scored four goals each while Kamran Siddiqui also bagged a hat-trick.

UBI’s Bryce Miranda assisted a couple of goals and also scored twice in the second-half. His link-up was a treat to watch. The other goal-scorers were Shamer Swamy, Rosenberg Gabriel, Sumesh Nair and Brandon Picardo.

Chandrapur (Rozel Sheikh 2) 2-1 Palghar (Aman Shaikh)

In the second game, Chandrapul caused a huge upset to derail Palghar 2-1 in a tight contest. Palghar’s Aman Shaikh was incredible throughout the game and also went onto score for his side but couldn’t manage to lead his team to glory. It was Rozel Sheikh’s clinical display in front of the goal which secured a superb win for Chandrapur.

Nashik (Shubham Dayma 2 and Satish Aher) 3-0 Buldhana

The host on the back of a brilliant support cruised into the next round with a 3-0 win. After a series of supreme attack, the host took the lead through Shubham Dayma before Satish Aher doubled the lead. Shubham scored another in the end and sealed the game.

Nagpur (Blesson Saji 3 and Christopher Peter) 4-0 Sindhudurg

A splendid hat-trick by star player Blesson Saji inspired Nagpur as they defeat an energetic Sindhudurg side. The other goalscorer was Christopher Peter who scored in the second-half with a wonder goal.

Other results: Jalgaon (Kadeel Tadvi and Arvind Govind) 2-2 Sangli (D. Channiah and Tahid) – Sangli won 4-2 in penalties, Thane (Ritesh Choudhari and Nikhil Sheety) 2-0 Wardha, Yevatmal 0-0 Satara (Yevatmal won 6-5 on penalties)